The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) is a board of education for public and private schools, under the Union Government of India.

The CBSE curriculum is designed to provide students with a comprehensive education that includes a strong foundation in core subjects such as mathematics, science, and language, as well as opportunities to explore their interests in a variety of subjects.
The curriculum is divided into three stages:

  • Primary Stage: This stage covers classes 1 to 5. The focus of this stage is on developing basic literacy and numeracy skills, as well as introducing students to a range of subjects.
  • Middle Stage: This stage covers classes 6 to 8. The focus of this stage is on consolidating students' understanding of core subjects and introducing them to more complex concepts.
  • Secondary Stage: This stage covers classes 9 to 12. The focus of this stage is on preparing students for higher education or the workforce.
The following subjects are compulsory for all students in the CBSE curriculum:
  • Language: English, Hindi, and one other Indian language (e.g., Sanskrit, Urdu, Bengali, Tamil, etc.)
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Social Science
  • Physical and Health Education
  • Work Experience
  • Art Education
  • Computer Science
In addition to the compulsory subjects, students can choose to take a variety of elective subjects, such as:
  • Music
  • Dance
  • Fine Arts
The CBSE curriculum is assessed through a combination of continuous and summative assessments. Continuous assessments are conducted throughout the year and include formative assessments, such as classwork, homework, and projects, as well as summative assessments, such as mid-term and final exams.